NOTARY FOR MARSHALL COUNTY

What is a notary public?

A notary public is an individual that acts as an impartial witness in signing certain documents. The job of
the notary public is to verify the identity, willingness, and awareness of any person signing the document
in order to help prevent any fraud from occurring.

Can | become a notary public?
Yes. You can apply for appointment with the probate judge of the county of your residence. In order to
apply, you must, submit, an application which can be found online or at your probate judge’s office.

Is there an application fee?
Yes. Each applicant must pay a $10 application fee.

What all do | need to submit with my application?
In addition to a completed application form, you will need to submit a copy of your Alabama
Driver License.

What is the training program referenced in the application?

Effective September 1, 2023, all applicants for a notary public commission, unless otherwise exempted
by law, must complete a training program prepared by the Alabama Probate Judges Association and the
Alabama Law Institute. This training program must be completed within 30 days after submitting your
application and can be accessed on the Alabama Probate Judges Association’s website (www.alpja.org).
you will not be required to pay a fee to enroll in this program, and you will not be required to take a test
to receive a certificate of completion. NOTE: Completion of any other training program will not satisfy
the training requirement.

What happens after | submit my application?

Once you submit your application, the probate court’s staff will verify your information and determine if
you are fit to become a notary public. The probate judge will either send a letter rejecting your
application or send you a letter of appointment approving your application.

What do | need to do once | receive my letter of appointment?

Effective September 1, 2023, within 40 days from the date of the letter of appointment, the statewide
notary must obtain a bond with sureties provided by an Alabama licensed producer of such bonds and
approved by the probate judge of the county of residence in the sum of $50,000, payable to the State of
Alabama and conditioned to faithfully perform the duties of notary public. The bond must be executed,
approved, filed, and recorded in the office of the judge of probate of the county of their residence.

How to | receive my notary commission?
Once the probate court receives and records your notary bond, you will be issued a notary commission.
You cannot perform any notary act until you have received your notary commission.



How much must be paid to the probate judge to receive a notary commission?
According to the Alabama Code, the standard fee collected by the probate judge for each notary
commission issued is $25.00. However, the fee may be increased by local legislation. In Marshall
County, the fee for each notarial commission is $59.00.

How long does a commission last for a notary public?
The term of office for a notary public is 4 years. The notary may apply for a renewal after their four year
term has expired.

Is a notary required to have seal?

Yes. In order to authenticate the official acts of the notary, each notary must provide a seal. The
impression or stamp of this seal must provide the name, office, state, and the county where the notary
the notary was appointed. Notary seals may be purchased from office supply stores.

Once duly appointed, what may a notary public do?

A notary may administer oaths, take acknowledgements of or proof of instruments of writing relating to
commerce or navigation and certify the same and all other of their official acts under their seal of office,
demand acceptance and payment of bills of exchange, promissory notes and all other writing which are

governed by the commercial law as to days of grace, demand and notice of nonpayment and protest the
same for nonacceptance or nonpayment and to give notice thereof as required by law.

What fees may a notary collect for services?
A notary is permitted to collect a reasonable fee, not to exceed $10.00, for each notarial act performed.

Does a notary public have to keep records to each notarial act?
No. A notary public only has, to keep a record of notarial acts and communications where two-way
audio-video communication is involved.

What is the penalty for performing a notarial act without a commission or an

expired commission?

If any person performs a notarial act without being a notary or after their commission has expired, they
are guilty of a Class C misdemeanor. If any person performs a notarial act knowing that they are not
properly commissioned with the intent to commit fraud of intentionally assist with a fraudulent action,
they are guilty of a Class D felony.

Can | be reported for notary misconduct?

Yes. Any party to a transaction where a notarial certificate is involved may execute an affidavit and file it
with either the Secretary of Sate or your probate judge. Upon receipt, the Alabama State Law
Enforcement Agency shall then, conduct, an investigation and refer their findings to a district attorney
for prosecution.



